Nebraska Territory
The Territory of Nebraska was an organized incorporated territory of the United States that existed
from May 30, 1854, until March 1, 1867, when the final extent of the territory was admitted to the Union
as the State of Nebraska. The Nebraska Territory was created by the Kansas–Nebraska Act of 1854.
The territorial capital was Omaha. The territory encompassed areas of what is today Nebraska,
Wyoming, South Dakota, North Dakota, Colorado, and Montana.